Über OstrauUnsere ProdukteWeinwissenContact
Worldmap
Country Portraits
Cultivation regions
Wine knowledge
   
     
  Portugal
Portrait
Anbau
Produkte

Europakarte
Weltkarte

Portugal-Legende
 
Click on a cultivation region on the map, to get further information.

Portugal Vinho Verde Porto e Douro Barraida Dao Beira Interior Ribatejo Obidos Arruda Bucelas Palmela Sétubal Alentejo Lagoa Portimao Lagoa Tavira Alenquer
 
In the North

1. VINHO VERDE
Vinho Verde, green wine, designates a lawfully marke-off area in the North-West of Portugal, with the right to the appellation of origin Vinho Verde. The name is less related to the colour of the wine - it exists in red and white. "Green", is rather referred to its freshness, which the grapes unfold during growing of a mixed cultivation with kiwi, corn and vegetables. The white Vinho Verde is beside the port wine, the most important export wine of Portugal. Vinho Verde is drunk young.     
top

2. PORTO E DOURO
East of Porto, at the headwater of the river Duoro, the home of the Port wine is situated. Already in the 18th century. The Douro area had been registered for the cultivation of Port wine. Which is about a liqueur wine with an alcohol content of 19 to 22 % vol. Around 40 percent of the grape crop, is being used for Port wine. But also exquisite table wines originate from this region. The rose wine from this region, are characterised by a vivacious freshness. They should be served cool. The red wines are aromatic and lively, the white wines delicate, dry and fruity. Excellent - a maybe Portugal’s best red wine - is the Barca Velha, a great wine.     
top

3. BAIRRADA
Between Dao and Atlantic, Porto and Combra, the flat hilly landscape Bairrada is situated. Two grape varieties grow here, which are not existing in the whole of Portugal: the red Baga and the white Bical. Both of them produce special wines: the red ones are velvety, with a touch of currants and blackberries. They may match with French high-quality wines. The white ones are harmonious, powerful and are sweet with apricots. The Barraida red wine, show a broad diversity of varieties. The Garrafeira wines, Vintage wines of best quality, are mostly also based upon Baga. The white wines, straw yellow and aromatic, are mostly the basis for the sparkling wine production.
top

4. DAO
In the middle of pine woods, the wine gardens are situated North-East of Lisbon in the valley of the river Dao. Here, severe winters and hot summers reign. First of all, because of its red wines, this area is well-known: ruby, later red-brown, with a tender bouquet and hard taste, due to its tannin content, this wine needs time to become velvety. These wines are very storable. The white wine, straw yellow, fresh and fruity, has to mature at least for six months before being bottled. The white may also be enjoyed young.
top

5. BEIRA INTERIOR
The vines from the province of Beira, grow on granite and schist soils. The area may be divided into two zones: in the North, primarily red wines are produced, light red and aromatic. The white Moimenta da Beira, fresh and fruity, is used for the manufacture of sparkling wine. In the second zone, Beira Baixa, garnet red wines with a soft taste are produced.
top
 
In the South

6. RIBATEJO
In the valley area of the Tejo, yearly 800.000 hectolitres of wine are produced. Here are many domestic grape varieties growing, but also Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. In Ribatejo particularly white wine is being produced. They have a pallid-yellow and are fruity to the taste. The red wines are ruby and grow velvety with age. The Serradayres is remarkable, which is offered in red and white.
top

7. OBIDOS
About 13.000 hectares, the vine area in the Estremadure north of Lisbon comprises. Particularly, the white wines from Gaeiras are well-known, but also the red wines are worth mentioning - both of them being fresh and able to age.
top

8. ALENQUER
The winegrowing area with an area of about 12.500 hectares is situated about 50 kilometres north of Lisbon. Here, white wines are produced, among others from the vine varieties Arinto, Fernao Pires, Jampal as well as red wines from Periquita, Camarate or Mortagua and others. 
top

9. ARRUDA
The winegrowing area Arruda is situated between Bucelas and Alenquer, north of Lisbon. On an area of approx. 4700 hectares, white wines – Fernao Pires, Jampal, Vital – and red wines – Camarate, Periquita, Tinta Miuda – are produced.   
top

10. BUCELAS
Fresh and young white-wines in this area – as a result of the cold water and the temperature in the summer.
top

11. PALMELA
In particular, red wines originate from the cultivation area of Palmela – fuell-bodied and rich in tannins, the darl wines are from the vine variety Periquita.The white wines from this region play a trivial role. 
top

12. SÉTUBAL
The Moscatel de Setúbal is considered one of the most outstanding nutmeg dessert wines. It is sweet, but still delicate and fruity. Besides that, good red table wines originate from Setúbal, fruity and aromatic.
top

13. ALENTEJO
From the plateau between Lisbon and the Algarve originate ruby, powerful red wines and straw yellow white wines. they show a high alcohol content.
top

14. LAGOS
The small winegrowing area with an area of just about 500 hectares, is situated in the outmost South-West of Europe. Cultivated are the white vine variety Boal Nranco and the red Periquita and Negra Mole.
top

15. PORTIMAO
Around the little fishing port of Portimao, the smallest DOC winegrowing area is situated in the Algarve. On an vine area of 300 hectares, the white vine variety Crato Blanco is being cultivated as well as the red Negra Mole und Periquita.
top

16. LAGOA
Lagoa in the Algarve, is the largest DOC winegrowing area of Portugal (2000 hectares). Here, white wines (Crato Blanco) and as well as red and rose wines are produced (Negra Mole, Monvedro, Periquita).
top

17. TAVIRA
This little DOC winegrowing area is situated in the East of the Algarve and borders on Spain. From this region originate particularly red wines from Periquita and Negra Mole and white wines from Crato Blanco. 
top
 
 
 
SitemapLinksContactImprint

Über OstrauUnsere ProdukteWeinwissenKontakt
Weltkarte
Länderportrait
Anbaugebiete
Serviceseiten
   
     
  Portugal
Portrait
Anbau
Produkte

Europakarte
Weltkarte

Portugal-Legende
 
Klicken Sie in der Karte auf eine Anbauregion, um weitere Informationen zu erhalten.

Portugal Vinho Verde Porto e Douro Barraida Dao Beira Interior Ribatejo Obidos Arruda Bucelas Palmela Sétubal Alentejo Lagoa Portimao Lagoa Tavira Alenquer
 
Im Norden

1. VINHO VERDE
Vinho Verde, grüner Wein, bezeichnet ein gesetzlich abgegrenztes Gebiet im Nordwesten Portugals mit dem Recht auf die Ursprungsbezeichnung Vinho Verde. Der Name hat weniger mit der Farbe des Weins selbst zu tun – es gibt ihn rot und weiß. „Grün“ bezieht sich eher auf seine Frische, die seine Trauben beim Wachsen in einer Mischkultur mit Kiwi, Mais und Gemüse entfalten. Der weiße Vinho Verde ist neben Portwein der wichtigste Exportwein Portugals. Vinho Verde wird jung getrunken.
nach oben

2. PORTO E DOURO
Östlich von Porto am Oberlauf des Flusses Douro liegt die Heimat des Portweins. Bereits im 18. Jahrhundert wurde das Douro-Gebiet für den Anbau von Portwein registriert. Dabei handelt es sich um einen Likörwein mit einem Alkoholgehalt von 19 bis 22 % vol. Rund 40 Prozent der Traubenernte wird für Portwein verwendet. Aber auch ausgezeichnete Tafelweine stammen aus dieser Region. Die Roséweine aus diesem Gebiet zeichnen sich aus durch eine lebhafte Frische. Sie sollten kalt serviert werden. Die Rotweine sind aromatisch und lebhaft, die Weißweine delikat, trocken und fruchtig. Exzellent – und vielleicht der beste Rotwein Portugals – ist der Barca Velha, ein großer Wein.
nach oben

3. BAIRRADA
Zwischen Dao und Atlantik, Porto und Combra liegt die flache Hügellandschaft Bairrada. Zwei Traubensorten wachsen hier, die es sonst in ganz Portugal nicht gibt: die rote Baga und die weiße Bical. Beide bringen besondere Weine hervor: die roten sind samtig, mit Noten von Johannisbeeren und Brombeeren. Sie können sich mit französischen Spitzenweinen messen. Die weißen sind harmonisch, kräftig und duften nach Aprikosen. Die Bairrada-Rotweine weisen eine breite Sortenvielfalt auf. Die Garrafeira-Weine, Jahrgangsweine von bester Qualität, basieren meist ebenfalls auf Baga. Die Weißweine, strohgelb und aromatisch, bilden zumeist die Grundlage für die Schaumweinerzeugung.
nach oben

4. DAO
Inmitten von Pinienwäldern liegen die Weingärten nordöstlich von Lissabon im Tal des Flusses Dao. Hier herrschen strenge Winter und heiße Sommer. Vor allem wegen seiner Rotweine ist dieses Gebiet bekannt: Rubinrot, im Alter rotbraun, mit zartem Bouquet und hartem Geschmack wegen seines Tanningehalts braucht dieser Wein Zeit, um samtig zu werden. Diese Weine sind sehr lagerfähig. Der Weißwein, strohgelb, frisch und fruchtig muss vor der Abfüllung mindestens sechs Monate ausgebaut werden. Der Weißwein kann auch jung genossen werden.
nach oben

5. BEIRA INTERIOR
Die Weinreben aus der Provinz Beiras wachsen auf Granit- und Schieferböden. Das Gebiet lässt sich in zwei Zonen unterteilen: Im Norden werden in erster Linie Rotweine produziert, hellrot und aromatisch. Der weiße Moimenta da Beira, frisch und fruchtig, wird gern für die Herstellung von Sekt verwendet. In der zweiten Zone, Beira Baixa, werden granatrote Rotweine mit weichem Geschmack hergestellt.
nach oben
 
Im Süden

6. RIBATEJO
Im Talgebiet des Tejo werden jährlich 800.000 Hektoliter Wein produziert. Hier wachsen viele einheimische Traubensorten, aber auch Cabernet Sauvignon und Merlot. In Ribatejo wird vor allem Weißwein hergestellt; sie haben eine blassgelbe Farbe und sind betont fruchtig im Geschmack. Die Rotweine sind rubinrot und werden erst im Alter samtig. Bemerkenswert ist der Serradayres, der rot und weiß angeboten wird.
nach oben

7. OBIDOS
Etwa 13.000 Hektar umfasst die Rebfläche nördlich von Lissabon in der Estremadura. Vor allem die Weißweine aus Gaeiras sind bekannt, aber auch die Rotweine sind erwähnenswert – beide frisch und alterungsfähig.
nach oben

8. ALENQUER
Das Weinbaugebiet mit einer Fläche von etwa 12.500 Hektar liegt ungefähr 50 Kilometer nördlich von Lissabon. Hier werden Weißweine erzeugt unter anderem aus den Rebsorten Arinto, Fernao Pires, Jampal sowie Rotweine aus Periquita, Camarate oder etwa Mortagua u.a.
nach oben

9. ARRUDA
Das Weinbaugebiet Arruda liegt zwischen Bucelas und Alenquer, nördlich von Lissabon. Auf einer Fläche von circa 4700 Hektar werden Weißweine – Fernao Pires, Jampal, Vital – und Rotweine – Camarate, Periquita, Tinta Miuda – erzeugt.
nach oben

10. BUCELAS
Säurebetont und spritzig sind die Weine dieses Anbaugebiets – ein Resultat der kalten Winter und der Temperaturschwankungen im Sommer. Vor allem Weißwein wird hier produziert, wegen seiner Säure auch „portugiesischer Rheinwein“ genannt.
nach oben

11. PALMELA
Vor allem Rotweine stammen aus dem Anbaugebiet Palmela – körper- und tanninreich sind die dunklen Tropfen aus der Rebsorte Periquita. Die Weißweine aus dieser Region spielen eine unbedeutendere Rolle.
nach oben

12. SÉTUBAL
Der Moscatel de Setúbal gilt international als einer der hervorragendsten Muskat-Dessertweine. Er ist süß, aber dennoch delikat und fruchtig. Daneben stammen aus Setúbal gute rote Tischweine, fruchtig und aromatisch.
nach oben

13. ALENTEJO
Von der Hochebene zwischen Lissabon und Algarve stammen rubinrote, kräftige Rotweine und strohgelbe Weißweine. Sie weisen einen hohen Alkoholgehalt auf.
nach oben

14. LAGOS
Das kleine Weinbaugebiet mit einer Fläche von gerade noch 500 Hektar liegt im äußersten Südwesten Europas. Angebaut werden die weiße Rebsorte Boal Branco und die roten Periquita und Negra Mole.
nach oben

15. PORTIMAO
Rund um den kleinen Fischerhafen Portimao liegt das kleinste DOC-Weinbaugebiet in der Algarve. Auf einer Rebfläche von 300 Hektar wird die weiße Rebsorte Crato Branco angebaut sowie die roten Negra Mole und Periquita.
nach oben

16. LAGOA
Lagoa in der Algarve ist das größte DOC-Weinbaugebiet Portugals (2000 Hektar). Hier werden Weißweine (Crato Branco) sowie Rot- und Roséweine erzeugt (Negra Mole, Monvedro, Periquita).
nach oben

17. TAVIRA
Dieses kleine DOC-Weinbaugebiet liegt im Osten der Algarve und grenzt an Spanien. Aus dieser Gegend stammen vor allem Rotweine aus Periquita und Negra Mole sowie Weißweine aus Crato Branco.
nach oben
 
 
 
SitemapLinksKontaktImpressum