Über OstrauUnsere ProdukteWeinwissenContact
Worldmap
Country Portraits
Cultivation regions
Wine knowledge
   
     
  California
Portrait
Anbau
Produkte

Europakarte
Weltkarte

Kalifornien Legende
 
Click on a cultivation region on the map, to get further information.

North Coast Sierra Foothills Central Valley Central Coast
 

1. NORTH COAST
On an area of 31.000 hectares, here - in the counties Napa Valley, Sonoma County, Lake and Mendocino, - develop the most premium wines of California. Here, grow Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Zinfandel, Gamay, Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Noir, Chenin Blanc, Johannisberg Riesling and Gewürztraminer. Napa is the heart of American viniculture; there are over 200 wineries here and anything that is of distinction.
top

2. SIERRA FOOTHILLS
The vine pest and the prohibition have disrupted winegrowing around 1900 in the area of the Sierra Foothills, east of Sacramento. With the recommencement, thirty years ago, the winegrowers right from the start, focused on quality. On an area of 1.100 hectares, they today achieve great results Zinfandel, Cabernet Sauvignon and Riesling. Zinfandel, the most important variety, is being offered as White Zinfandel, Rosé and Zinfandel (red wine).
top

3. CENTRAL VALLEY (FROM SACRAMENTO - BAKERSFIELD)
Everything is growing lusciously here: fruit, rice, wine. From this huge valley, originate almost 70 percent of all Californian grapes on “wine fields“ (76.000 hectares) – the monstrous dimensions forbid the appellation  “wine gardens“. Cultivated are French Colombard and Chenin Blanc as well as Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon, but from Californian breedings like Ruby Cabernet, Carmine, Centurion and Carnelian.
top

4. CENTRAL COAST (FROM SAN FRANSCISCO - LOS ANGELES)
Not accidentally, the wine cultivation area here amounts to 20.000 hectares: soils and climatic conditions are ideal here – between Santa Barbara County, Livermore Valley, Los Angeles and San Francisco. Excellent wine are produced here from Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Zinfandel, Pinot Noir and Merlot. The bay of Monterey enables the intrusion of cold air masses into the heartland. The existing valley, thus experiences optimal conditions and here also, one experiments with all kinds of vine varieties.
top
 
 
 
SitemapLinksContactImprint

Über OstrauUnsere ProdukteWeinwissenKontakt
Weltkarte
Länderportrait
Anbaugebiete
Serviceseiten
   
     
  Kalifornien
Portrait
Anbau
Produkte

Europakarte
Weltkarte

Kalifornien Legende
 
Klicken Sie in der Karte auf eine Anbauregion, um weitere Informationen zu erhalten.

North Coast Sierra Foothills Central Valley Central Coast
 

1. NORTH COAST
Auf einer Fläche von 31.000 Hektar entstehen hier – in den Counties Napa Valley, Sonoma County, Lake und Mendocino – die hochwertigsten Weine Kaliforniens. Hier wachsen Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Zinfandel, Gamay, Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Noir, Chenin Blanc, Johannisberg Riesling und Gewürztraminer. Napa ist das Herz des amerikanischen Weinbaus, über 200 wineries gibt es hier und alles was Rang und Namen hat ist vertreten.
nach oben

2. SIERRA FOOTHILLS
Die Reblaus und die Prohibition haben um 1900 den Weinbau im Gebiet der Sierra Foothills, östlich von Sacramento zum Erliegen gebracht. Beim Neubeginn vor dreißig Jahren setzten die Weinbauer von Anfang an auf Qualität. Auf einer Fläche von 1.100 Hektar erzielen sie heute sehr gute Ergebnisse mit Zinfandel, Cabernet Sauvignon und Riesling. Zinfandel, die wichtigste Sorte, wird als White Zinfandel, Rosé und Zinfandel (Rotwein) angeboten.
nach oben

3. CENTRAL VALLEY (VON SACRAMENTO - BAKERSFIELD)
Alles wächst hier üppig: Obst, Reis und Wein. Aus diesem riesigen Tal stammen nahezu 70 Prozent aller kalifornischen Trauben auf „Weinfeldern“ (76.000 Hektar) – die ungeheuren Dimensionen verbieten die Bezeichnung „Weingärten“. Angebaut werden French Colombard und Chenin Blanc sowie Zinfandel und Cabernet Sauvignon, aber auch kalifornische Züchtungen wie Ruby Cabernet, Carmine, Centurion und Carnelian.
nach oben

4. CENTRAL COAST (VON SAN FRANSCISCO - LOS ANGELES)
Nicht zufällig beträgt die Weinanbaufläche hier 20.000 Hektar: Böden und Klimabedingungen sind hier – zwischen Santa Barbara County, Livermore Valley, Los Angeles und San Francisco – ideal. Hier werden exzellente Weine aus Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Zinfandel, Pinot Noir und Merlot erzeugt. Die Bucht von Monterey ermöglicht das Eindringen von kalten Luftmassen ins Landesinnere. Das vorhandene Tal erfährt so optimale Bedingungen und auch hier experimentiert man mit vielerlei Rebsorten.
nach oben
 
 
 
SitemapLinksKontaktImpressum