Über OstrauUnsere ProdukteWeinwissenContact
Worldmap
Country Portraits
Cultivation regions
Wine knowledge
   
     
  Australia
Portrait
Anbau
Produkte

Europakarte
Weltkarte

 
Click on a cultivation region on the map, to get further information.

Australia Barossa Goulborn Valley Coonawarra und Padthaway Greater Perth Central Western Australia Western Australia South Eastern Coastel South West Australia The Peninsulas Mount Lofty Ranges and Adelaide Mc Laren Vale Big Rivers Yarra Valley Hunter Valley Launceston Hobart Clare Valley Riverland

In the West (Federal state Western Australia)

1. GREATER PERTH
Australia’s smallest winegrowing area, Perth Hills and Surrounds, is situated east of Perth. The most important grape varieties are Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay, in smaller vineyards, Semillon, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Traminer, Shiraz and Rhine Riesling are being cultivated.
top

2. CENTRAL WESTERN AUSTRALIA
Concerning quality, the wines from Western Australia, may not match with products from Southern Australia, New South Wales or Victoria. Though, their quality is of best repute, as the wines from the West are downright elegant and hot-blooded like nowhere else in Australia.
top

3. SOUTH WEST AUSTRALIA
South-West Coastal Plain goes from the west of Perth, 150 km to the Southern Bunbury. On the fine-sandy soil, named after the Tuart rubber tree, primarily Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, Shiraz and Rhine Riesling (Magaret River).
top

4. WESTERN AUSTRALIA, SOUTH EAST COASTEL
The Lower Great Southern Region comprises an area of 150 by 150 kilometres. A rather cool climate reigns here., in which irrigation is urgently necessary. An outstanding Cabernet Sauvignon grows here with deep colour and strong structure. Also excellent: Rhine Riesling, Chardonnay, Shiraz, Merlot, Pinot Noir and Malbec.
top

In the East (Federal state South Australia)

5. THE PENINSULAS
In this region, south of Melbourne along the coast, very many little vineyards are situated. Fine qualities prosper here, mainly Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir, Rhine Riesling and Traminer.
top

6. MOUNT LOFTY RANGES AND ADELAIDE
Adelaide Hills are situated south-east of Adelaide around the Mount Lofty Ranges. In cooler regions of 400 – 500m, fruity, full-bodied white wines and powerful red wines, are produced here. The vine varieties are Rhine Riesling, Chardonnay, Gewürztramine, Cabernet Sauvignon, Shiraz and Pinot Noir.
top

7. BAROSSA
Barossa Valley is situated 60 km northeast of Adelaide and is on the main cultivation areas. Best Rieslings, Chardonnays and Semillons as well as finest red wines from Shiraz and Cabernet Sauvignon come here into being.
top

8. CLARE VALLEY
One of the oldest premium cultivation areas, approx. 200 km north of Adelaide. Good Riesling and Cabernet Sauvignon grow here, but also the Shiraz, Chardonnay and Semillon are excellent.
top

9. RIVERLAND
Traditionally famous for its dessert wines and brandy’s, this area, northeast of Adelaide, has developped into a significant producer for wine from the wood, due to the low rainfall.
top

10. MC LAREN VALE
South of Adelaide and famous for exquisite Shiraz and Cabernet Sauvignon. The closeness of the ocean and the moderate climate, are involved in the quality of these wines.
top

11. COONAWARRA UND PADTHAWAY
Situated south of Adelaide, in direction to Melbourne, here on the famous “terra rossa“ (red terra), excellent Cabernet Sauvignon (Coonawarra) as well as in Pathaway, wonderful Chardonnay and Riesling wines are produced.
top
In the South-East (Federal state New South Wales)

12. BIG RIVERS (RIVERINA)
The intensive irrigation in this region, which is characterised by a dry, hot climate, pays off: two-third of the entire wine production of the state New South Wales, originate from the area Murrumbidgee, also called Riverina. Mainly Sémillon and Shiraz are being cultivated.
top

13. HUNTER VALLEY
Already since 1823, there is winegrowing here, 160 km north of Sydney. Principally, dry white wines (Semillon and Chardonnay) as well as middle heavy red wines (Shiraz and Cabernet Sauvignon) originate from here.
top

In the South (Federal state Victoria)

14. GOULBORN VALLEY
About 120 km north of Melbourne, with moderate climate, outstanding dry red wines and elegant, juicy white wines grow here.
top

15. YARRA VALLEY
Close to Melbourne, primly Cabernet Sauvignon, Shiraz or Pinot Noir are being produced here. But also Semillon white wines, full of character, as well as noble sweet Botrytis wines, belong to the assortment.
top

16. LAUNCESTON (NORTH)
In Tasmania reins a cool, windy climate. In the North, at Launceston, sufficient rainfalls occur, which redundancies and irrigation. The character of the Tasmanian Chardonnays, Pinot Noirs and Cabernet Sauvignons, is most similar to its European relatives.
top

17. HOBART (SOUTH)
The South of Tasmania is also exposed to cool temperatures and strong wind. Drought is added though. Here, at Hobart, the winegrowers do not go without irrigation. But on its sandy schist soils, grows a superb Riesling. Like in Northern Tasmania, also Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Cabernet Sauvignon is being cultivated.
top
 
 
 
SitemapLinksContactImprint

Über OstrauUnsere ProdukteWeinwissenKontakt
Weltkarte
Länderportrait
Anbaugebiete
Serviceseiten
   
     
  Australien
Portrait
Anbau
Produkte

Europakarte
Weltkarte

 
Klicken Sie in der Karte auf eine Anbauregion, um weitere Informationen zu erhalten.

Australia Barossa Goulborn Valley Coonawarra und Padthaway Greater Perth Central Western Australia Western Australia South Eastern Coastel South West Australia The Peninsulas Mount Lofty Ranges and Adelaide Mc Laren Vale Big Rivers Yarra Valley Hunter Valley Launceston Hobart Clare Valley Riverland
 
Im Westen (Bundesstaat Western Australia)

1. GREATER PERTH
Das kleinste Weinbaugebiet Australiens, Perth Hills and Surrounds, liegt östlich von Perth. Die wichtigsten Traubensorten sind Cabernet Sauvignon und Chardonnay, in kleineren Weingärten werden Semillon, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Traminer, Shiraz und Rhine Riesling angebaut.
nach oben

2. CENTRAL WESTERN AUSTRALIA
Die Weine aus Westaustralien können sich in punkto Quantität nicht mit den Produktionen aus Südaustralien, Neusüdwales oder Victoria messen. Allerdings steht ihre Qualität in bestem Ruf, denn die Weine aus dem Westen sind ausgesprochen elegant und rassig wie sonst nicht in Australien.
nach oben

3. SOUTH WEST AUSTRALIA
South-West Coastal Plain dehnt sich westlich von Perth 150 Kilometer bis ins südliche Bunbury. Auf dem feinsandigen Boden, benannt nach dem Tuart Gummibaum, gedeihen vor allem Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, Shiraz und Rhine Riesling (Magaret River).
nach oben

4. WESTERN AUSTRALIA, SOUTH EAST COASTEL
Die Lower Great Southern Region umfasst eine Fläche von 150 mal 150 Kilometern. Hier herrscht ein relativ kühles Klima, in dem Bewässerung dringend notwendig ist. Hier wächst ein hervorragender Cabernet Sauvignon mit tiefer Farbe und kräftiger Struktur. Ebenfalls exzellent: Rhine Riesling, Chardonnay, Shiraz, Merlot, Pinot Noir und Malbec.
nach oben
 
Im Osten (Bundesstaat South Australia)

5. THE PENINSULAS
In diesem Gebiet südlich von Melbourne entlang der Küste liegen sehr viele kleine Weingüter. Hier gedeihen feine Qualitäten, vor allem Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir, Rhine Riesling und Traminer.
nach oben

6. MOUNT LOFTY RANGES AND ADELAIDE
Adelaide Hills befinden sich südöstlich von Adelaide um die Mount Lofty Ranges. Hier werden in kühleren Regionen von 400 - 500m Höhe, fruchtige körperreiche Weißweine und kraftvolle Rotweine erzeugt. Die Rebsorten sind Rhine Riesling, Chardonnay, Gewürztramine, Cabernet Sauvignon, Shiraz und Pinot Noir.
nach oben

7. BAROSSA
Barossa Valley liegt 60 km nordöstlich von Adelaide und ist eines der Hauptanbaugebiete. Beste Rieslinge, Chardonnays und Semillons sowie feinste Rotweine aus Shiraz und Cabernet Sauvignon entstehen hier.
nach oben

8. CLARE VALLEY
Eines der ältesten hochwertigen Anbaugebiete, ca. 200 km nördlich von Adelaide. Hier wächst guter Riesling und Cabernet Sauvignon, aber auch der Shiraz, Chardonnay und Semillon sind hervorragend.
nach oben

9. RIVERLAND
Traditionell für seine Dessertweine und Weinbrände bekannt, hat sich dieses Gebiet nordöstlich von Adelaide aufgrund der geringen Niederschläge zu einem bedeutenden Faßweinproduzenten entwickelt.
nach oben

10. MC LAREN VALE
Südlich von Adelaide und bekannt für ausgezeichneten Shiraz und Cabernet Sauvignon. Die Meeresnähe und das gemäßigte Klima sind an der Qualität dieser Weine beteiligt.
nach oben

11. COONAWARRA UND PADTHAWAY
Südlich von Adelaide in Richtung Melbourne gelegen werden hier auf der berühmten "terra rossa" (rote Erde) ausgezeichneter Cabernet Sauvignon (Coonawarra) sowie in Pathaway herrliche Chardonnay und Riesling-Weine hergestellt.
nach oben
 
Im Südosten (Bundesstaat New South Wales)

12. BIG RIVERS (RIVERINA)
Die intensive Bewässerung in dieser Region, die sich durch ein trockenes, heißes Klima auszeichnet, zahlt sich aus: Zwei Drittel der gesamten Weinproduktion des Staates Neusüdwales stammen aus der Gegend Murrumbidgee, auch Riverina genannt. Vorwiegend werden Sémillon und Shiraz kultiviert.
nach oben

13. HUNTER VALLEY
Bereits seit 1823 gibt es hier, 160 km nördlich von Sydney Weinbau. Hier kommen hauptsächlich trockene Weißweine (Semillon und Chardonnay) sowie mittelschwere Rotweine (Shiraz und Cabernet Sauvignon) her.
nach oben
 
Im Süden (Bundesstaat Victoria)

14. GOULBORN VALLEY
Ca. 120 km nördlich von Melbourne wachsen hier bei gemäßigtem Klima hervorragende trockene Rotweine und elegante, saftige Weißweine.
nach oben

15. YARRA VALLEY
Nahe Melbournes wird hier ausgezeichneter Cabernet Sauvignon, Shiraz oder Pinot Noir erzeugt, doch auch charaktervolle Semillon-Weißweine sowie edelsüße Botrytis-Weine gehören zum Sortiment.
nach oben

16. LAUNCESTON (NORDEN)
In Tasmanien herrscht ein kühles, windreiches Klima. Im Norden, bei Launceston, fallen ausreichende Niederschläge, die eine Bewässerung überflüssig machen. Der Charakter der tasmanischen Chardonnays, Pinot Noirs und Cabernet Sauvignons kommt denen seiner europäischen Verwandten am nächsten.
nach oben

17. HOBART (SÜDEN)
Der Süden Tasmaniens ist ebenfalls kühlen Temperaturen und starkem Wind ausgesetzt, hinzu kommt jedoch auch noch Trockenheit. Hier, bei Hobart, kommen die Weinbauern nicht ohne Bewässerung aus; aber auf seinen sandigen Schieferböden wächst ein hervorragender Riesling. Wie auch im Norden Tasmaniens wird außerdem Chardonnay, Pinot Noir und Cabernet Sauvignon angebaut.
nach oben
 
 
 
SitemapLinksKontaktImpressum